Do you put the eggs in before the water boils?

You can put them in before or after the water is boiling. If you put the eggs in prior to the water boiling, bring it to a boil, remove from heat and cover for 14 minutes. If you put the eggs in after it’s boiling, leave them in the boiling water for 8 minutes. Pro tip: add a splash of vinegar.

---

In reality you can put the eggs in whenever you want, but tests by numerous chefs indicate placing eggs in boiling water makes them easier to peel. Most people who cook eggs agree: put your eggs in boiling water.