Why is the groundhog called a woodchuck?

They actually get their name from the Algonquin tribe of Native Americans, who originally called them “wuchak.” English settlers, in trying to use that word, likely came up with the name woodchuck. Depending on where you live, woodchucks are also known as groundhogs, land beavers, and whistling pigs