Can you tell me about poison ivy?

Poison ivy is caused by an allergic reaction to the oil that covers the plants. A person doesn't have to come in direct contact with the leaves or branches of the plant to get the rash. One can get it from contaminated clothing. Even in winter the leafless stems and vines can cause the familiar rash