How long does it take for a chrysalis to open?

Different species of butterflies stay in the chrysalis, or pupal stage, for different periods of time. This can range from about seven days to more than a year, but for a large number of species it is less than 30 days. For example, pupal stage lasts eight to fifteen days in monarch butterflies.