Why is a washer called a washer?

The answer is probably lost in history. The earliest cite in the OED is from 1346 (spelled “whashers”), but the first quote that describes their use is from 1611, “an iron hoope, amongst gunners called a washer, which serues to keepe the iron pin at the end of the axeltree from wearing the naue.”