Why is james madison known as the father of the constitution?

James Madison is considered the Father of the Constitution due to the importance that his Virginia Plan would serve as the constitution’s primary basis while also considering his pivotal role as drafter of the Bill of Rights.

---

James Madison is known as the Father of the Constitution because of his pivotal role in the document's drafting as well as its ratification. Madison also drafted the first 10 amendments -- the Bill of Rights.