What large bay is located north of lake superior in canada?

Hudson Bay is what you're thinking of. It is named for Henry Hudson, an Englishman working for the Dutch East India Company in 1609. It encompasses 470,000 sq mi, making it the second-largest water body called a "bay" in the world. The bay is fairly shallow, with an average depth of about 330 ft.