How long do you cook a bone in prime rib?

Cook the roast for 15 minutes, then reduce the oven temperature to 325 degrees. Continue to cook the roast until your meat thermometer reads 120 degrees. Estimate about 15 minutes of cooking time per pound of prime rib.