Why is cheese yellow?

The yellow in cheese comes from beta carotene, which is a fat-soluble yellow pigment and antioxidant found in grass. After a cow chews the grass, beta-carotene dissolves into the animal's fat stores and ends up in fat globules in its milk, which is then used in making cheese.