How fast is the earth going?

The earth rotates once every 23 hours, 56 minutes and 4.09053 seconds, called the sidereal period, and its circumference is roughly 40,075 kilometers. Thus, the surface of the earth at the equator moves at a speed of 460 meters per second--or roughly 1,000 miles per hour.

---

The earth at the equator moves 460 meters per second or 1,000 mph. Earth moves round the sun at 30 kilometers per second or 67,000 mph. Earth, at the center of the galaxy moves around 220 kilometers per second, or 492,126 mph.