How did the pilots in the nineteen twenties navigate?

Before 1920, pilots navigated by simple compass & by following roads and road maps, like cars did. However, on July 6th, 1920 the first pilot navigated using AM radio. On that day, pilots used the first radio compass to fly 100 miles over water, the first use of radio navigation by an aircraft