What's a johnny cash?

John R. Cash, known as Johnny Cash, was an American country singer-songwriter. He was famous for his gravelly bass-baritone voice, which was the vocal bedrock of American country music, for more than four decades. His music contained themes of sorrow, moral tribulation, and redemption.