What is a bacterial fage?

A bacteriophage, also known informally as a phage, is a virus that infects and replicates within bacteria and archaea. The term was derived from bacteria and the Greek phagein, meaning to devour. Bacteriophages are composed of simple or elaborate proteins that encapsulate a DNA or RNA genome.