Why is it impolite to put your elbows on the table?

Originally, tables where long boards on trestles, and people only sat on one side. If too many people would lean on the table, they would flip it.It disrupts the table, as on a full table there isn't room. And it makes it look as if one is not strong enough, or sober enough, to sit upright.