What is alkaline phosphate?

Alkaline phosphatase (ALP) is an enzyme found in several tissues throughout the body. The ALP in blood samples of healthy adults comes mainly from the liver, with most of the rest coming from bones (skeleton).

---

Alkaline Phosphatase is an enzyme found in your bloodstream. It helps break down proteins in the body and exists in different forms, depending on where it originates. Your liver is one of the main sources but it is also made in your bones, intestines, pancreas, kidneys, and placenta.