Who were barnum and bailey?

P. T. Barnum, of the Barnum & Bailey Circus, died April 7, 1891, and James Bailey purchased P T's share of the circus from his widow. Bailey continued operating the show on the east coast until December of 1897, when he took the circus to Europe for a five year tour.