How did the liberty bell break?

The bell's first crack was in 1752 when it was tested on its arrival in Pennsylvania due to brittle metal and had to be recast twice. The second crack, the one you see today happened between 1753 and 1846. The crack is a subject of debate among historians and is unclear how it occurred.

---

The metal was too brittle so it broke during a test strike i believe in 1752