What is a ten penny nail?

A tenpenny nail is a nail approximately three inches long. The name is thought to come from the cost in pennies of a hundred nails. The name may also be a false derivation of the original ten-pun nail or ten-pound nail, when a thousand of this size nail would weigh ten pounds.