Why is godfather famous?

The film "The Godfather," based on the novel by Mario Puzo, is arguably one of the greatest films in the history of cinema. Released in 1972, it was for a time the highest-grossing film In movie history and was nominated for 10 Academy Awards, winning Best Picture and Best Actor (Marlon Brando).