Do you need a degree to be a midwife?

Yes, to train as a midwife, you will need to do an approved degree in midwifery at university or a midwifery degree apprenticeship, which combines working and studying. To become a certified nurse-midwife (CNM), candidates must earn a Master of Science in Nursing degree.