How do women make milk?

Pituitary glands release hormones prolactin and oxytocin. Prolactin informs milk-making glands in womens breast to make milk. Oxytocin signals let-down reflex to release the milk. It causes alveoli to contract then squeeze breast milk out into her milk ducts. Milk ceases when baby stops suckling.