Does confectionery sugar go bad?

When properly stored and kept free from contaminants, powdered sugar (also known as confectioners' sugar or icing sugar) has an indefinite shelf life. To maximize the shelf life of powdered sugar, store in a cool dry area and keep tightly sealed after opening.