How long does it take for a baby bird to grow up?

After 2 or 3 weeks, most songbirds are usually ready to leave the nest. Other birds, such as raptors, may stay in the nest for as long as 8 to 10 weeks.

---

It depends on the breed of bird. Some of the larger birds take up to a year or longer to mature while the like of a common house sparrow or swallow may mature within a couple of months.