Who came up with pumpkin carving?

It is believed that the custom of making jack-o'-lanterns at Halloween time began in Ireland. In the 19th century, "turnips or mangel wurzels, hollowed out to act as lanterns and often carved with grotesque faces," were used on Halloween in parts of Ireland and the Scottish Highlands.