How do people make money on youtube?

YouTubers earn money when their channel becomes monetized. They receive a portion of the ad revenue, super chat, super thanks, from merchandise sales, brand partnerships, sponsored videos, channel memberships, direct donations from viewers, membership via Patreon or similar.