How many notes does a saxophone have?

By standard fingering conventions, an alto saxophone can play 32 or 33 notes (depending on whether a dedicated high F# key is found on the instrument). With extended techniques and fingerings, it's possible to play about 53 notes, but once you reach high enough, you're really just squeaking.