How do you get rust off of tools?

Superficial rust can sometimes be removed by soaking the tool in vinegar. Several brands of rust-removing spray or solution are available, including one from WD-40. Deep, penetrating rust with pitting will likely require use of abrasives, such as steel wool, a wire brush or a metal file.

---

There are several ways, a common easy way is letting them soak in white vinegar for a few hours, then use a stiff brush and water to rinse. You can also let them soak in a 50 50 mix of molasses and water for about a week, then rinse with water. actions