What is the state with the most letters?

Until 2020, Rhode Island, whose official name was State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, held the record. But voters successfully removed additional wording to become only "Rhode Island", making Commonwealth of Massachusetts the new longest state name with 27 letters in its name.