What is the ratio for brown rice to water?

The Right Ratio: Trust us: Though it's printed on the package, the standard 2-to-1 ratio makes mushy rice. For long-grain brown rice, use 1 cup and quarter cups water to 1 cup rice. For short-grain, use 1 and half cups water.