Why do babies get jaundice?

Infant jaundice occurs because the baby's blood contains an excess of bilirubin, a yellow pigment of red blood cells. It usually occurs because the baby's liver isn't mature enough to remove the bilirubin in the bloodstream.

---

Infant jaundice occurs because the baby's blood contains an excess of bilirubin (bil-ih-ROO-bin), a yellow pigment of red blood cells. Infant jaundice is a common condition, particularly in babies born before 38 weeks' gestation (preterm babies) and some breast feeding babies.