Why is a toilet called a toilet?

The word "toilet" is from from French toilette ‘cloth, wrapper.' The word originally denoted a wrapper for clothes; then a cloth cover for a dressing table and the process of dressing, later also of washing oneself). So eventually it meant a room where one washed themselves.