What does have your cake and eat it too mean?

"You can't have your cake and eat it too." refers to two desirable options which are mutually exclusive of one another.

---

You can't have your cake and eat it is a popular English idiomatic proverb or figure of speech. The proverb literally means "you cannot simultaneously retain your cake and eat it". Once the cake is eaten, it is gone.