Is z. a. n. e. a word?

No, zane is not in the scrabble dictionary. The name Zane is primarily a gender-neutral name of American origin that has an unknown or unconfirmed meaning. In English, Zane originated as a surname with an unknown etymology and was popularized as a first name from author Zane Grey.