Is there such thing as a black wolf?

Black wolves do exist, but they are quite rare: these wolves have a genetic mutation that causes them to produces excess melanin, a pigment responsible for coat color. It is still unknown what causes this arbitrary mutation, but some scientist suggest that it is because of cross breeding with dogs.