What are technic plates?

Tectonic plates are gigantic pieces of rocky crust that float on the molten layers deep within the earth.

---

What is a tectonic plate? A tectonic plate (also called lithospheric plate) is a massive, irregularly shaped slab of solid rock, generally composed of both continental and oceanic lithosphere. Plate size can vary greatly, from a few hundred to thousands of kilometers across.