Do cicadas come out every seventeen years?

there are several species of cicadas ,many of which commonly will come out annually ,1 in specific is commonly refered to as the 17 year cicada . known for the loud sounds made during their mating season,it can be almost deafening when large groups gather searching for mates and the cycle renews