What kind of fat is in avocados?

Unlike other fruits, avocados are very high in fat. In fact, 77% of their calories come from fat (1). Avocados contain mostly monounsaturated fat, plus a small amount of saturated fat and polyunsaturated fat. Most of that monounsaturated fat is oleic acid, the same fatty acid found in olive oil.