Why are pistachios red anymore?

Before the 1970s, imported pistachios were dyed red to cover stains due to traditional harvesting methods. Today, most pistachios sold in the U.S. are grown in California where mechanized harvesting allows the nuts to be picked, hulled and dried before the shell has a chance to become stained.