What is the name harper come from?

It's an occupational name for a player on the harp, from an agent derivative of Middle English, Middle Dutch harp 'harp'. The harper was one of the most important figures of a medieval baronial hall, especially in Scotland and northern England, and the office of harper was sometimes hereditary.