When did britain conquer india?

Started as a trade affair with India in 17th century AD, it was nowhere like a conquest initially. But because of the absence of nationalism in India, lack of fidelity of Indian soldiers who worked for any party who pays them and advanced British arms and weapons, India got colonized by Britain.