What kind of animal is stormy the carolina hurricanes mascot?

Stormy, the mascot of the Carolina Hurricanes, is an anthropomorphic pig, who wears the number 97 (shortened for 1997- the year when the Hartford Whalers moved to North Carolina to play their first game).