What's the difference between a strain and a sprain?

The difference between a sprain and a strain is that a sprain injures the bands of tissue that connect two bones together, while a strain involves an injury to a muscle or to the band of tissue that attaches a muscle to a bone.

---

Strains are injuries that affect muscles or tendon. They occur in response to a quick tear, twist, or pull of the muscle. Sprains are injuries that affect ligaments. They result from trauma such as a fall or outside force that displaces the surrounding joint from its normal alignment.