What was bret michaels head injury?

During the 2009 Tony Awards Michaels was hit in the face by a descending set piece andfractured his nose. He blamed a brain hemorrhage he experienced months later on that injury. The singer sued CBS, alleging that producers were to blame because they failed to tell him how to exit the stage safely.