What is the difference between chutney and jam?

Most chutneys are jams, without the pectin and with an addition of vinegar, dried fruit, and spices for savory notes. Indian cuisine often pairs mango-rich and acidic chutneys with spicy mains. There is no added pectin in a chutney, and the added sugar tends to be a little bit lower.