Tell me about puerto rico history?

The first known settlers arrived in 2000 BC. By 1000 AD, the Taíno culture was dominant. Columbus came in 1493, and Ponce de Leon founded the 1st Spanish settlement in 1508. Slavery was ended in 1873. In 1898, during the Spanish-American War, the US invaded and made it an unincorporated territory.