What's the difference between h. d. m. i. and h. d. m. i. arc?

The H.D.M.I arc standard includes a separate Audio Return Channel for passing the audio portion of the media source to a separate audio receiver or audio amplifier for potentially higher quality audio in movies or television shows in a home theater.