What is the definition of a so chef?

A sous-chef de cuisine, or simply sous-chef, is a chef who is "the second in command in a kitchen; the person ranking next after the executive chef." Consequently, the sous-chef holds much responsibility in the kitchen, which can eventually lead to promotion to becoming the executive chef.