Why is kansas city in missouri not kansas?

Kansas City, Mo., incorporated in 1853, eight years before Kansas became the 34th state. The Missouri city took it's name from the Kansas River — which was inspired by the Kanza People, Native Americans of the Kaw Nation — and was originally called the City of Kansas. It became Kansas City in 1889