What's the lowest note on a violin?

The lowest note of a violin, tuned normally, is G3, or G below middle C. On rare occasions, the lowest string may be tuned down by as much as a fourth, to D3. A violin is tuned in fifths, normally in the notes G3, D4, A4, E5.