What's the difference between a realtor and a real estate agent?

An agent is an individual who has obtained a state license to assist consumers in buying or selling properties. Realtors are agents who have gone one step further—they've also become members of the National Association of Realtors.

---

A real estate agent is someone who has met state criteria (curriculum/exams) to be licensed to conduct real estate transactions. A Realtor is a real estate agent who pays annual dues and becomes a member of the National Association of Realtors and agrees to abide by the association Code of Ethics.